Semester at Sea – ship life

My seasickness is wearing off, finally. Maybe it’s the medications, who knows. But whatever it is, it’s working. I have a bit of a sore throat, and the rocking is giving me a bit of a headache… but hey, I’m getting there.

My first day of classes went well – I especially like my Global Music course. It’s just amazing to compare all kinds of music around the world! And I mean, our professor has a lovely British/Africans accent so it makes her lectures that much more enjoyable. I also had a meeting today with my boss and co-workers. I was granted a work-study for Semester at Sea, so I have to work 2 hours a day. One hour I work reception at an activities desk, and the other hour I am the assistant to one of the Resident Directors, where I will help with managing clubs and events. Specifically, my position is in the diversity department of student life. I will help to maintain intercultural communication and understanding throughout the ship community, which includes things such as “students of color” and “LGBT” clubs.

I am excited for tomorrow. The Work Study crew has an on-sight training in a VIP cabin (basically a really huge cabin room!) and there we will have training as well as a specially made dinner just for us, free of charge (YES! <3) To end the night I made myself some hot coco I brought from home and sat outside with a friend just talking in general about life. The ocean is so beautiful, but also terrifying. It’s really something amazing to watch.

I’ve always been a bit of an introvert, but I am making friends and am being as social as possible (because truth is, I like socializing. It just terrifies me sometimes) However, I did eat dinner alone today. I know I could have sat with a random group of people and they would have accepted me with open arms, but sometimes it’s nice to have “me” time where I can just live in my own mind, free of conversation obligations. I usually have breakfast and lunch with my roommate and another friend down the hall. :] A combination of that, and my me time..it’s a perfect balance.

Anyway, as the ship braves through a storm, and my drawers constantly open and close, I am going to try and get some shut eye. Cya!

Leave a Reply

