Semester at Sea – first days

Mother of god…sea sickness is horrible! Shortly after I ate dinner with a few students and the ship took off I lost it. I took some free motion sickness meds they gave out and actually that made me worse. Thank God for the clinic on board; I was able to go get a shot in my back (ow…) which took instant effect and then they prescribed me a 3-day motion sickness patch which I will put on in the morning.

Over all, as for the program itself, it’s going really smooth. I ended up missing a couple assemblies due to me being so sick, but luckily in our rooms we are able to watch a live recording of them via our mini tv. The cabins are not nearly as bad as I thought. Small, yes, but plenty of storage space. I love the bathrooms. Tiny, but the shower Is perfect with wonderful unlimited hot water. My bed in comfy. I feel less homesick cuddling my blankie my aunt gave me (which is fortunately covered in cat hair <3) a fox, and my fottie pjs. And, the free email systems works okay. I am able to get up with friends and family pretty well.

I am a little stressed trying to get travel arrangements for some other countries set up. Students keep dropping out of programs I created and I think the tour companies are going to hate me by the time we get there…ah, such is life.

Facility on the ship truly are cheery and kind-hearted. I have to get some bills from the ATM when we get to Hawaii to tip our cleaning guy with.

Anyway, wrapping it up. I am going to have the ship rock me to sleep so I can try and get up at 7am tomorrow. Plan to take a friend to the clinic so she can also get a shot (she’s worse off than me :[ ) and then we’ll attempt to hold down breakfast together – hah. Funn. And I start classes at around 2pm! Also gotta find my work-study boss…still don’t know my schedule. Last I heard, he got the sea-sickness happy-fun-time as well.

Hawaii in 5 -6 days! Can’t wait to zipline, upload some pics, and over all just soak up the sun!
Then 12 days from Hawaii to Japan..I better be over this by then!

Sailor out! :]

Leave a Reply

